4th of july

The 4th of July has always been one of my favorite holidays and I’ve celebrated it the same way for pretty much my whole life. This celebration usually involves going to the parade, having a cookout and watching fireworks. Pretty standard. I think what I like about the 4th of July is that it is usually a really fun day but it is also really simple. It doesn’t require a lot of preparation unless you consider going to the store to buy hot dogs to be very time consuming. Like I said it is just a fun, relaxing summer day and walking home up Belle at night after the fireworks I always felt a sense of contentment.

Now that I no longer live in Lakewood, however, I had to find a new way to celebrate the 4th. When I found out K wasn’t going to be in town I have to say I was pretty bummed out. I don’t know anyone here yet and I figured I would be spending my holiday with Levi (no offense, Levi). No worries though because my dad came to the rescue!

For the first couple of days of his visit, my dad slaved away pulling weeds from our yard and helping me with things around the house. K and our next door neighbor were able to grow grass in a backyard that used to be entirely dirt but unfortunately about half of the yard is weeds instead of grass. This is the first house that either K and I have lived in where we are responsible for all the yard maintenance so it is something we are still getting used to I think but my dad has given us a good start. It is just going to be a lot of hard work but we wanted a house with a yard so we will just have to suck it up.

Anyway, yesterday my dad and I finally got out and did something fun by going to an early 4th of July celebration at a park in Fort Carson. It was basically a huge fair/carnival. We got there in the evening in time to see the 4th ID band play and also some soldiers that were rocking out singing some pretty hardcore music. We stayed to see most of the fireworks before heading home. We left early to avoid getting caught in a traffic jam- I now see the advantage of living within walking distance of Lakewood Park. Today we went to church on post and then to the Pikes Peak Arts Fest where we drank homemade root beer and cream soda (yum!). It is been a change from what I normally do every 4th of July but change is good!

The entertainment at Fort Carson. It was kind of dark.

Fireworks!

Pikes Peak Arts Fest.

Dad with mountain background.

Countdown till K gets back: 12 days
Look for a post soon about K’s belated birthday celebration!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

