sunday thoughts

Colorado Springs happens to be home to one of the most amazing dog parks EVER. DogparkUSA.com claims this dog park is 25 acres which I don’t really believe but it is gigantic. I hate to say this because the Lakewood dog park treated me well, but this Bear Creek dog park kind of puts Lakewood’s park to shame. First, there is a huge fenced in grassy area for small dogs so they aren’t discriminated against. The part of the park for all size dogs has actual trails- there is a big one that makes a loop around the park and then a bunch of small trails that progressively make their way up the side of a big hill. This is really nice because owners don’t have to stand there passively and watch the dogs play the whole time, they can get some exercise themselves. Probably the crown jewel of this dog park though, is a creek that runs down one side of the park, hence the name Bear Creek. The first time Kyle and I took Levi there, he was scared to go in (of course) but once he saw all the other dogs having so much fun, he gave it a try. Now he loves it- well he has all three times he has been there. I took him there today to meet one of the ladies from this group of Colorado Springs military wives. The lady I met has a husband who has been in the Army for 8 years so I got to hear a little bit about what her life has been like. Her husband is stationed in North Carolina and he won’t be coming to join her in Colorado for like another year. She has a young son and her husband’s family lives here so that is why she moved here…in an attempt to have more time to establish a life here. This is the second “meetup” that I have gone to but I can already see that military life can be pretty complicated. I think pretty much everyone has respect for military families, but hearing stories from these women has definitely given me a new, deeper respect/understanding of some of the things these people have to go through. I also should not be complaining about Kyle being gone for one measly month even though I do miss him a lot. I think if anything the time apart has taught us to appreciate one another a lot more and I hope that is something we never forget.

Anyway, speaking of Kyle…..I have gotten him to watch some preeeeetty terrible chick flicks. The two that are sticking out in my mind at the moment are “P.S. I love you” and “He’s just not that into you”. I’m sure there have been others. The whole point of this though is that last night I watched “The Proposal”. I wasn’t expecting too much but it was actually really funny. It’s hard with romantic comedies because the previews can make even the worst ones look good. Now I wonder if I can get Kyle to watch “The Proposal” so he can see that romantic comedies aren’t all bad……

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

