it’s a good thing

Kyle is home! It is SO SO soooooo good to have him here. The day before he was supposed to arrive home, a beautiful vase of flowers was delivered to my door. The fact that the poor guy had to spend a month away from home yet he is the one sending me flowers proves how sweet he is.

We decided the day Kyle got back we would just relax and spend time with one another. Since he missed his birthday, I did want to have a little something special waiting for him. I wrapped his presents….sort of ghetto-like in newspaper and tissue paper and put them on the kitchen table. I made a little birthday banner too.

I considered making a cake but I got a Martha Stewart cupcake book as a shower gift from my cousin and a muffin tin from my aunt so I decided to make cupcakes instead. There are some pretty wild recipes in this book but when I saw one for brownie cupcakes with peppermint patty centers I knew it was fate because Kyle loves peppermint patties.  

Some other recipes I hope to try soon are mini chai tea cupcakes and snickerdoodle cupcakes. So anyway now that I am done drooling…the cupcakes turned out well except I think I baked them a tad too long. After a couple days the tops got pretty hard although the bottoms were still moist, chewey, chocolatey deliciousness. This is weird but spell check is not saying chocolatey is spelled wrong so it must be a real word, how odd. Anyway all I had to do was mix up all the batter, fill each cup a bit, add the patty, then add more batter. Voila! None of my pictures turned out too well and although they may not look that pretty, that did not stop Kyle and I from shoving all of them in our faces. I did give a few to our next door neighbor so we didn’t eat ALL of them.

So Kyle opened his presents and we attempted to cook out on our new grill but failed miserably. Luckily the George Foreman came to the rescue and we learned some lessons for our next foray into outdoor grilling.

Kyle's fave show

If it looks like we are strangling Levi, well, we are. He would not sit still for a picture.

Make a wish!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to it’s a good thing

  1. Min says:

    So glad that the two of you are reunited! Love the banner, too! And that fan on the table is adorable.

  2. carol donofrio says:

    keep posting those pics– kyle has some really good bi-color biceps going on haha

Leave a Reply

