out and about

I started writing this post earlier this week but for some reason I couldn’t get the pictures and text to cooperate. I got frustrated and deleted the entire thing but now I am giving it another try. I wanted to write about what Kyle and I did on our long weekend.

On Saturday, we went hiking at a place called Red Rock Canyon. I think this was a good place for us to start because it was really beautiful but not too challenging for us newbie hikers. Levi came along and had a good time despite the fact that he nearly got eaten by a German Shepard that literally broke its collar and charged at him. Kyle stepped in front of Levi to protect him! What a good dad. Here are some pictures we took while on the hike (click on the picture to see a larger version):

Very beginning of the hike

For some reason I thought it would be cool to pull my hat down half way over my face.

All of us! Note the red rocks.

Cool red cliff.

On Sunday, we took a spontaneous trip to a little mountain town called Manitou Springs. It is a really charming place with tons of cute shops and restaurants. Manitou Springs has a lot of cool old buildings which gives the place a historical feel. Unfortunately, I left my camera in the car but next time I will definitely take some pictures! We mostly just walked around doing some window shopping. There are several spots throughout town where you can pump mineral  spring water so we decided to give it a try. You might think it would be cool, refreshing, pristine, etc. but I think Kyle described it best when he said, “This is what I would imagine toilet water would taste like”. Haha. We also stopped at this old fashioned penny arcade to play some skeeball. Our trip ended with us sitting out on the patio of a bar having a beer and watching everyone on the street walk by.

On Monday, Kyle and I drove up to Denver to go to Water World. I bought him tickets for his birthday and we needed to use them before his eye surgery. Overall, the park was fun. It is a pretty huge place with every type of water slide imaginable from the kind that go pretty much straight down and you feel like you might fly off the edge at any moment to the kind where you ride on a giant inner tube under big waterfalls. There were wave pools (scary!) and a lazy inner tube river, my personal favorite. I’ve also decided that I like inner tube slides much better than slides where it’s just you careening down a dark tunnel and bumping your head on the slide (yes, that happened to me). I’d say the only downsides to the park were waiting in line and burning our feet on the ground. Kyle entertained me by screaming different things in a very high pitched voice on many of the rides. They ranged from “EEEEEEEEEEEEEE” to “HOOOOOOOOOOOOOT” and many others in between. We didn’t take too many pictures because my camera was in our locker but we did take one at the end of our day:

The joys of driving home through Denver's rush hour in an extremely hot car with no AC.

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

