comment battles

Last night I was bored so I started browsing Epicurious for recipes (K was at his computer playing WoW). I looked at quite a few recipes and eventually came across this one, thinking it sounded tasty. I always like to look at the reviews people post of recipes to see if it was good or if they made any changes, etc.

This particular recipe had 54 reviews. As I read, I discovered a comment battle. This is basically where people argue with one another through comments. I have seen these exchanges on lots of other websites especially Youtube- there are some real meanies on there. I guess it’s easy to say horrible things when you are shielded by the anonymity of the internet. Anyway, this was an unexpected and funny surprise from a site like Epicurious. If you have the patience to read through some of the comments I think it will give you a laugh. It all begins on Page 5 when some woman posted her review like twelve times in a row. I would then recommend reading backward to Page 1 starting with Page 3. These pages are sprinkled with the comment battle as well as actual reviews of the recipe. Basically, a few people get mad at the woman who posted her review multiple times. Others then get mad at those people for being mean. An argument ensues about what her motives could be, was she trying to skew the ratings for this recipe??!! They kind of lose me on the first page where people start talking about how we all need to work to make the world a better place and the SPE (Sarah Palin Express). If it sounds bizarre, it is- go read it!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to comment battles

  1. Rita Seabrook says:

    i love epicurious so of course i had to check out this comment war. this is my personal favorite: “I didn’t make this dish yet, but after reading through the reviews I now have a facial tic and a sincere wish to cause bodily injury to DeborahFlanagan from Southeast Michigan.”
    really? bodily injury? really?!

    • littletulip says:

      haha yeah that was a good one! i know it is so funny to me how worked up people can get over something so dumb.

  2. carol donofrio says:

    wow! talk about getting your grilled mustard chicken shorts in a wad!

  3. littletulip says:

    lol mom you and your comments

Leave a Reply

