the incline

It has been a while…I think it is a combination of not being inspired to blog and lack of things to blog about. Here are some things that have been going on in our lives:

Last Friday, I was driving to my second substitute teacher orientation when the dreaded check engine light came on. I made it home alright but did not want to drive the car anywhere else. This was unfortunate because K and I planned to meet at a park on post to have a picnic lunch. This was the lunch I made that we never got to eat together:

On Saturday, K and I went downtown. We ate dinner at a Mexican restaurant that had a nice enclosed patio in the back which was perfect because the weather was beautiful. We then headed to a bar called Cowboys. I think the thing that impressed me most about this bar was the range of people there. Women, men, couples- young and old all line dancing and two-stepping and all that stuff. I hope K and I are still out having fun like some of these couples when we are that old!

Sunday, K and I decided to go to Manitou Springs to hike THE INCLINE.

This trail starts at 6500 feet and goes up about 2000 feet in a mile long trail.

The sign is where the trail begins and that white arrow is the top. It may not look that far but it is probably one of the hardest things I have ever done physically. I just kept thinking, “What have I gotten myself into?” But once you start there is really no going back because you are on this steep trail with no escape routes except up or back down. We took Levi with us too, poor little guy. We saw a guy with a huge baby packed on his back and a guy running down these steep and dangerous stairs. Crazies!

View from the top! We made it!

Sweaty and hot yet happy to be at the top!

Levi was a trooper.

K has been taking a special course last week and this week- he even has homework and tests to study for. Sometimes for homework he draws on these laminated maps with different colored markers which looks sort of cool to me. Tonight he was studying for a test he has to take tomorrow.

Last but not least, the other day we inadvertently discovered that Levi has a peep-hole (more like a head hole) in our fence so he can check out what’s going on in the front yard. Before we blocked it off, I had to capture a photo of him using it:

ONE more thing…K may have captured a picture of me watching cartoons on Saturday morning. There is evidence so I can’t deny it.

Today I got on iChat with my family. I had been a little bummed out lately about my job situation and car (which is fixed now supposedly) and a few other things and talking to them really cheered me up. Alright- that is all for now for real!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the incline

  1. Min says:

    This is perfect for Levi: http://www.petpeek.info/

    And I just watched an entire episode of the original Power Rangers on Saturday morning and it made me ridiculously happy.

  2. carol donofrio says:

    we gotta love that crazy little dog! Having had one of those salads that J makes, I can say they are soooo good!

  3. carol donofrio says:

    after looking at that pic of levi, I would say that he could have poked an eye out!

Leave a Reply

