fall is coming!

It is now officially September which means school starting and fall coming soon. Speaking of school, I guess I should mention that I got a job (sort of) as a substitute teacher. I am signed up to sub for 3 different districts right now. I didn’t mention it on here because it didn’t really feel like a real job yet. I got my first gig on Wednesday- it was a half day of 2nd graders. I have never been so terrified of a group of seven year olds before, I was so nervous! I kept thinking, the last time I was in a 2nd grade classroom was when I was in 2nd grade. Despite my anxiety, everything turned out alright and it was actually sort of fun. I think my favorite part about kids this age is that there are some who will just outright tattle on the other ones and tell the class to be quiet and things like that without the slightest care of what anyone else thinks. On Friday, I had my second job subbing for a 10th grade English teacher at a high school close to our house. Despite meeting again with the dreaded sophomores, everything went pretty okay there too. I guess I better guess used to sophomores anyway if I plan on teaching biology.

K told me that fall is his favorite season and I really like it a lot as well. I know fall in Ohio means the leaves changing colors and cool weather so I’m curious to see what fall will bring here in Colorado. Whatever the weather, that will not stop me from partaking in lots of fun fall festivities. Probably one of the reasons I like fall so much is because of Halloween. I am excited to decorate our house and hand out candy AND celebrate the day K and I got engaged! I also love eating pumpkin flavored things and I started thinking about all my favorite fall treats like pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks, Edy’s (or Dreyer’s out here) slow-churned pumpkin ice cream, pumpkin cream cheese from Einstein’s, apple cider, caramel apples, I could go on and on. I have been researching fall festivals and other autumnal events in the Colorado Springs area as well and I have found some promising things so far. I saw a link to this website on Min’s blog (Min is married to K’s best friend from West Point). I thought it was pretty cool and decided to use it to make a fall-themed collage.

The coming of fall also means football season. K and I went to Bdubs on Thursday night to watch OSU’s first game. Even though it was a total blowout it was pretty cool to be at a restaurant all the way out in Colorado with a bunch of of fellow Buckeye fans wearing OSU t-shirts and sweatshirts and stuff.

On Friday after I got home from school, K and I left to go camping for a couple days. We went to a place called Arkansas Headwater Recreation Area or something like that. Our specific site was called Ruby Mountain. It took over an hour to get there but on the drive we saw some incredible scenery- it was really beautiful. It was also on the drive there that I realized my camera battery was dead. I know. I was so disappointed I would not be able to capture our camping adventure on film. When we arrived on Friday evening, we set up our tent and all of our things, built a fire and made dinner. On Saturday, we went hiking, visited a small town nearby and relaxed by the campfire before coming home this morning. The cool thing about our camp site is that it was right next to the river so we got to listen to the soothing sounds of the water rushing by as we fell asleep and relaxed during the day. It was quite chilly at night and in the morning and there was no running water but other than those two inconveniences, we had a pretty fun time. Levi also managed to be quite annoying at times (imagine that), but overall he did okay with his first campout. He also tried to chase a kayaker into  the river only to discover it was a lot deeper than he thought and although it may sound mean, it was pretty hilarious to watch him doggy paddling for dear life back to the river bank.

Edit: I forgot to mention that while we were camping I could see more stars than I have ever been able to see in my life- it was seriously amazing. I also saw two hummingbirds hover for a few seconds very close to me- it was so cool! I want to get a hummingbird feeder now!

That is about all that is going on with us right now. K has the day off tomorrow so we are just trying to enjoy the last of our long weekend before it’s back to work (for K). There is a dog swim tomorrow at the pool on post and Levi doesn’t know it yet, but he is about to get some more swimming practice- I better go charge my camera battery!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to fall is coming!

  1. Min says:

    Isn’t the picture mosaic thing amazing? Also, congrats on making it through substitute teaching. I think I’m going to try to do that when Brandon deploys.

Leave a Reply

