(not) dog swim

So I mentioned there was a dog swim Monday evening at the pool on post. We took Levi and…..he did not swim. He was terrified of the pool. He spent most of the time running around the deck nervously wagging his tail and barking at dogs and people who were swimming.

We started him off in the baby pool where he could stand up but whenever we let go of him he made a beeline for the edge.

Eventually we took him out the the big pool. Neither of us wore our bathing suits because we didn’t plan on getting in the dog fur infested waters. Then we started thinking…..we came all this way….there is no way Levi is going to get in the pool on his own…..so……K ended up getting in the pool fully dressed. He would hold Levi and then let him swim a little bit- it reminded me of teaching a little kid to swim, like when you hold their stomachs so they don’t get scared. Some people used a different tactic than we did to get their dogs in the pool- they would basically just pick their dogs up and throw them in the pool. Some people call it a dog swim- I think of it more as traumatize your dog day.

One picture did surface from our camping trip. K took this picture of Levi with his phone. It was so cold at night, we brought a little pillow for Levi to sleep on but we also ended up tucking him in with a fleece blanket.

Also, I went out on our back deck today and came upon a monster grasshopper. It was seriously the size of a baby mouse. I sprinted back inside to get my camera and when I came back out he was still there. I proceeded to do a photo shoot and got a splinter in my knee. K said I should have put something next to him so everyone could see how big he really was but I unfortunately did not think of that so you will just have to take my word for it- he was gargantuan.

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to (not) dog swim

  1. carol donofrio says:

    the grasshopper says to little tulip “are you looking at me?!

  2. Min says:

    I traumatized Bella by pushing her into the pool her first time. She literally dropped like a rock and I was just staring, not sure if she was going to swim back up! Bella only likes to go swimming if I’m in the water too, but we have yet to get her to go into the ocean on her own.

    Also, the crickets here are black, and they look like cockroaches. It’s amazing to see bugs that we’re not used to from back at home!

Leave a Reply

