book club!

I was thinking about how you bought a bunch of books for your Kindle before you left and how you said you weren’t able to really get into Stones into Schools. I went to the library last week and picked up  a few books. My hope is that by the time you come home for R&R, I will be able to give you some good recommendations. I had in mind how much you liked The Dirty Life when I picked out my first batch of books.

I came across this book called Farewell, my Subaru which sounded intriguing and when I read the premise it seemed perfect. The author, Doug Fines, is a journalist with absolutely no agricultural background who buys a ranch in New Mexico to start raising goats, farming and reducing his carbon footprint, etc. Sound a little bit familiar?

I have to be honest with you, though. I am about a third of the way through this book and I don’t like it as much as The Dirty Life. I think the reason is because I find the author to be sort of….annoying… so it’s hard for me to get behind him. He does use the word “epic” in the title of his book, after all. I think he is growing on me, though. Plus, what he is doing and the shenanigans he gets himself into are pretty amazing. I am definitely going to finish the book and I think you will like it. The author kind of reminds me of you, funny and a little bit annoying but becoming more lovable as times goes on. Just kidding!

p.s. Is it bad that I forgot how to properly write the title of a book? Aaahh!

p.p.s. When you retire from the Army can we start a farm??!!

About littletulip

I recently moved from Ohio to Colorado to be with my new husband and we are extremely excited to finally start our life together. We wanted to create this blog as a way to let our family and friends back home see what is going on with us since we don't always talk to everyone on the phone all the time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

